skip to main content
caption: Senator Patty Murray speaks to a crowd of supporters with her family, on Tuesday, November 8, 2022, at an election night party at the Westin in Bellevue.
Enlarge Icon
Senator Patty Murray speaks to a crowd of supporters with her family, on Tuesday, November 8, 2022, at an election night party at the Westin in Bellevue.
Credit: KUOW Photo/Megan Farmer

Most Western Washington Democrats poised to return to Congress

Aside from a close race in the 8th Congressional District, Western Washington’s Democratic incumbent members of Congress are decisively beating back challenges from Republicans, and the party might even pick up a seat in the House.

The Associated Press has declared winners in eight of the state’s 10 congressional districts.

In heavily Democratic Seattle, incumbent Pramila Jayapal trounced Republican challenger Cliff Moon. She leads in the vote count 85% to 15%.

Jayapal is chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus and is currently serving her third term representing Washington's 7th Congressional District. In 2016, she became the first South Asian American woman elected to the U.S. House of Representatives.

Moon is a business owner and first-time candidate.

In the 9th Congressional District, Democrat Adam Smith has defeated Republican challenger Doug Basler 71% to 29%.

Smith has represented the district, which includes parts of Seattle, Bellevue, and Tacoma, since 1996. He is currently chairman of the House Armed Services Committee.

Basler is an entrepreneur and local Republican activist. This is the fifth time that he has challenged Smith.

In the 1st Congressional District, which includes parts of Snohomish and King Counties, Democratic incumbent Suzan DelBene has defeated Republican Vincent Cavaleri 64% to 36%.

DelBene is a former Microsoft executive who has represented the district since 2012. Cavaleri is a member of the Mill Creek City Council.

In the 2nd District, which includes parts of Everett, Bellingham, and Island and San Juan counties, incumbent Democrat Rick Larsen has defeated Republican Dan Matthews 61% to 39%.

Larsen is seeking his 11th term in the House. Matthews is a retired U.S. Air Force Colonel and commercial pilot.

In the 6th District, which covers the Olympic Peninsula, Democrat Derek Kilmer has won over Republican challenger Elizabeth Kreiselmaier 62% to 38%.

Kilmer, who was first elected to the post in 2012, is co-chair of the Bipartisan Working Group. Kreiselmaier is an education researcher.

In the 10th Congressional District, Democrat Marilyn Strickland has won her race against Republican Keith Swank 57% to 43%.

Strickland is a former mayor of Tacoma and the first Black member of Congress elected from Washington state. She is currently serving her first term. Swank is a 32-year veteran of the Seattle Police Department.

Two races remain too close to call. In the 8th Congressional District, incumbent Democrat Kim Schrier leads again Republican challenger Matt Larkin 53% to 47%.

The 8th is Washington’s only true swing district. It include portions of King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties plus Chelan and Kittitas counties in central Washington.

Schrier is a pediatrician who was first elected in 2018. Larkin is an attorney and businessman.

Finally, no incumbent was on the general election ballot in the 3rd District in southwest Washington. Incumbent Republican Jamie Herrera Beutler, one of 10 Republicans who voted to impeach former President Donald Trump, was knocked out of the race in the primary.

Right now, a Democrat is currently ahead in the race to succeed Herrera Beutler. Small business owner Marie Gluesenkamp Perez is leading Republican Joe Kent, an ally of former President Trump, 53% to 47%.

Correction notice: A previous version of this story incorrectly defined the boundaries of the 1st Congressional District. This story was corrected on Monday, Nov. 28 to reflect the district includes parts of Snohomish and King Counties.